Missy Elliott’s career spans over 25 years, and throughout the years she has written and produced a numerous amount of hits for various artists, including herself.

She has now become the first female rapper to be nominated for the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Songwriters are eligible for induction after they have been writing hit songs for at least 20 years.

2018 Essence Festival Presented By Coca-Cola - Louisiana Superdome - Day 2
Getty Images for Essence

The Associated Press obtained the list of nominees for the 2019 class, a day ahead of its official announcement, and Missy is among the list of performing nominees. If inducted she’ll be the third rapper to enter the organization. Jay-Z was inducted back in 2017, and Jermaine Dupri was inducted earlier this year.

Joining Missy as a performing nominee is Mariah Carey, who received her first nomination last year. Chrissie Hynde, Vince Gill, Mike Love, Jimmy Cliff, Jeff Lynne, Cat Stevens, John Prine, Lloyd Price, Tommy James, and the Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart) are among the other nominees.

Non-performing nominees include Jack Tempchin, Dean Dillon, Jerry Fuller, Tom T. Hall, Roger Nichols, and Dallas Austin.

Nominees for non-performing songwriting duos include P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, Russell Brown and the late Irwin Levine, musical theater writers Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore, Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham, Bobby Hart and the late Tommy Boyce.

A total of six songwriters or songwriting groups will be inducted during the 50th annual Induction & Awards Gala in New York City on June 13th, 2019.

Congrats to all the nominees!

More From 93.7 WBLK