Now that school is back in session for schools across Western New York, that means more School Buses will be on the road. An with several different school models being used in Western New York, you may see school buses at different times then expected.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Here is the law on when you need to stop for a school bus.

According to the New York State DMV, a driver must stop from either direction when encountering a school bus in the process of loading or unloading students:

  • On a public highway
  • On multiple lane roads
  • On opposite sides of divided highways
  • On a public street
  • On a private road
  • In a parking lot
  • On school property

If you don't adhere to the law you could face a stiff penalty and fine. Drivers who illegally pass stopped school buses with their red lights flashing face fines from $250 to $400 for the first conviction, $600 to $750 for the second and $750 to $1,000 for the third. Five points on your driver's license is also given for each conviction.

So as school buses return to the roadways, be prepared to stop!