Great Tips For Renting An Apartment In Buffalo
There has been a lot of talk in recent months about rental assistance and the eviction memorandum extensions. Now, the current program for renters who have fallen behind on their rent due to COVID-19 will be extended to January 15th. I have noticed that there have been some questions that have been asked by renters that most people may not know the answers to.
Can Landlords Raise Rent During The COVID-19 Pandemic?
According to ag.ny.gov, landlords are not allowed to raise the rent until their tenants' current lease has expired. Landlords are allowed to increase the rent, as long as they have given the tenant prior notice if the increase is more than 6% of what they are currently paying.
Can You Negotiate With Landlord Over Rent Increase?
In New York State a landlord must give you at least 30 days' notice if they have plans to increase your rent by 6% or more. Analysts say that a fair increase of rent is usually between 1 and 3 percent, any increase higher than that, then in most cases, you're in control to suggest what you are willing to pay, especially if you are a good tenant that takes care of the property and always pays on time.
How Much Can A landlord Charge For Late Fees?
A rent payment can only be considered late after 5 days, the late fee cannot be more than $50.00 or 5% of what the rent payment is whichever is less. I know these may seem a little far-fetched to some people but if these variants keep popping up, these rent issues can be around for a while.
Cheapest House for Sale in Buffalo
7 New Laws in New York for 2021