Due to a rise in COVID-19 cases in parts of WNY, new restrictions have been put in place.  Here's what you need to know.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More: Nominate a Family to Receive a Free Turkey from Steve Harvey

Credit: WVB

We are going backwards! New restrictions have been issued for yellow zones in Erie County’, where COVID-19 cases have gone up.  According to WIVB, New York State has issued new restrictions,

  • Only four people are allowed at a table for dining.
  • Bars and restaurants must close at Midnight.
  • A maximum of 25 people can gather in one place.
  • Houses of worship can host half of their maximum capacity.

The yellow zone is the step before the red zone, which would mean we would experience businesses closing again and restrictions on gatherings.

More: Social Services Commissioner Cannon Talks About Rental Assistance, COVID-19, and More [Interview]

The restrictions apply to quite a few cities and towns in Western New York, including Buffalo, Cheektowaga, Kenmore, Grand Island, Tonawanda, Amherst, Clarence, Lancaster, Lackawanna, West Seneca, Hamburg, Orchard Park, Williamsville, and Depew.

More: Here Are The 5 Zip Codes With The Highest COVID-19 Positivity Rates In WNY

Erie County Executive, Mark Poloncarz, tweeted about the yellow zones,

A significant portion of Erie County is now in a "Yellow" Cluster Zone due to increasing COVID-19 cases. We have an opportunity to do better before businesses and schools are closed. We must do better. Please be vigilant: #WearAMask #WashYourHands #BeAGoodNeighbor