After six long years, the legendary Kool G Rap has released a new solo album. The 11-track project, appropriately titled Return of the Don, is produced entirely by MoSS and features guest appearances from the likes of N.O.R.E., Raekwon, Conway, Westside Gunn, Termanology, Lil Fame, Freeway and more.

It's obviously been a while since we've heard a new album from the East Coast stalwart. The question is, why release one now? “What motivates me to get in the studio is really being in that creative zone that you cannot just enter on demand,” Kool G Rap said in a statement released around the time he unveiled the Return of the Don tracklist.

He continued, “It is more like an extremely powerful vibe that overcomes you. It’s triggered by hearing a particular track, or being inspired by another artist; or, a life experience that makes your mind and heart open up and lyrics just pour from your soul in the capacity of an avalanche. That’s what the Return of the Don represents; an amalgamation of past, present and future and a tribute to some of my most favorite spitters worldwide; this is my salute to those artists.”

Arriving alongside Return of the Don is a reflective new video for his Saigon and Termanology-assisted track "Running." Peep that video, the tracklist for Return of the Don and the project itself below. Cop it Return of the Don here.

Kool G Rap’s Return of the Don Tracklist

1. “Return Of The Don”
2. “Mack Lean” Feat. Fred The Godson and AG Da Coroner
3. “Criminal Outfit” Feat. Noreaga
4. “Wise Guys” Feat. Lil’ Fame and Freeway
5. “Out For That Life” Feat. Raekwon
6. “Times Up”
7. “Capitol Hill” Feat. Manolo Rose, Sheek Louch and Cormega
8. “Running” Feat. Termanology and Saigon
9. “World Is Mine” Feat. KXNG Crooked, Willie The Kid and Pearl Gates
10. “Popped Off” Feat. Sean Price and Ransom
11. “Rest In Peace” Feat. Conway The Machine and Westside Gunn

40 Hip-Hop Albums Turning 20 in 2017

More From 93.7 WBLK