Expect To See More New York State Police On Roads This Weekend
New York State Police are going to be on the roads this weekend looking for impaired drivers. Here's how much a DWI will cost you in New York State.
With the "Big Game" on Sunday, Troopers expect more people to be driving to and from watch parties, restaurants, and bars. They'll be looking for you if you are driving high, drunk, or otherwise impaired, as well as driving reckless. The enforcement period will run from today, Friday, February 10, 2023, through Monday, February 13, 2023. New York State Police Acting Superintendent Steven A. Nigrelli said,
Make the winning decision on Super Bowl weekend and don’t get behind the wheel if you’ve been drinking. Those celebrating the big game this weekend should do so safely-game plan ahead or drive sober. Safety is our top priority, and we will be increasing patrols and expanding sobriety checkpoints to identify drunk and impaired drivers and to help prevent senseless tragedies. The message is simple, don’t drink and drive!
How Much Money A DWI Will Really Cost You In New York
The penalties for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol are pretty harsh in New York, according to the Department of Motor Vehicles. There are several types of violations when it comes to driving while intoxicated,
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
.08 Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) or higher or other evidence of intoxication. For drivers of commercial motor vehicles: .04 BAC or other evidence of intoxication.
Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (Aggravated DWI)
.18 BAC or higher
Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (DWAI/Alcohol)
More than .05 BAC but less than .07 BAC, or other evidence of impairment.
Driving While Ability Impaired by a Single Drug other than Alcohol (DWAI/Drug)
Driving While Ability Impaired by a Combined Influence of Drugs or Alcohol (DWAI/Combination)
Chemical Test Refusal
A driver who refuses to take a chemical test (normally a test of breath, blood or urine).
Zero Tolerance Law
A driver who is less than 21 years of age and who drives with a .02 BAC to .07 BAC violates the Zero Tolerance Law.
Driving under the influence could cost you up to $10,000 in fines, not to mention lawyer fees. You could also spend up to 7 years in prison (excluding any vehicular manslaughter charges).