Lawmakers did not get to the bottle and can deposit increase this session and now may have to wait until 2025 to increase the return to 10 cents in New York State.

In 1983, New York State increased the deposit to 5 cents per bottle or can. It is time to make the deposit to go up. You have to pay for the deposit ahead of time, but it would make people actually want to go recycle and return them.

Some officials say that they are concerned that the return rate of bottles and cans would go up a ton if New York State makes the bottle and can deposit 10 cents. They expect the return rate could go up to 90% if the increase is approved.

It is illegal in New York State to return cans or bottles that you did not pay for. In New York State there is a Bottle Bill of Rights:

The right to return your empties for refund to any dealer who sells the same brand, type and size, whether you bought the beverage from the dealer or not. It is illegal to return containers for refund that you did not pay a deposit on in New York State.

New York State does admit, though that there are not going to go after anyone if they do return other people's cans.

"The right to get your deposit refund in cash, without proof of purchase."

It is NOT required by law to wash any of your bottles or cans, but New York State does want you to do it if you are able to.

The Only 24/7 Diners Left In New York State

Unbelievably, there are only a handful of diners still around in Upstate New York that are open 24 hours a day.

Gallery Credit: Yelp/Megan Carter

More From 93.7 WBLK